Monday, February 27, 2012

Women’s Basketball Earns No. 1 Seed At 2012 A-10 Championship

St. Bonaventure University Athletic News
February 26, 2012
Championship Bracket

Championship Central, Including Ticket Info

After becoming just the seventh team in Atlantic 10 Conference history to complete a perfect league regular season, No. 19/22 St. Bonaventure (27-2, 14-0 A-10) will be the No. 1 seed at next weekend's 2012 Buick A-10 Women's Basketball Championship in Philadelphia.

The Bonnies – by virtue of finishing in the top four of the league – earned a bye in the Opening Round and will face the winner of No. 8 La Salle or No. 9 Xavier on Saturday, March 3, at Noon in the Quarterfinals. Saint Joseph's University will serve as the host of the Championship, and all games will be played on campus at Michael. J. Hagan '85 Arena.

Bonaventure, which has won a program-record 16 consecutive games, clinched the top seed this past Wednesday with a win over Fordham. SBU capped its perfect conference slate on Saturday with a 58-32 victory at Rhode Island. The 32 points by the Rams are the fewest Bona has allowed in the Division-I era (1986-87).

St. Bona has never been a No. 1 seed at the A-10 Championship, and will be looking to become the 10th different school – sixth among current league members – to win the Championship. The top 12 of the A-10's 14 schools qualify for the Championship.

Temple (20-8, 13-1) earned the No. 2 seed, while Dayton (20-6, 12-2) garnered the third seed and Richmond (23-6, 9-5) qualified as the fourth seed.

Championship action commences on Friday, March 2, at 11:30 a.m. with La Salle playing Xavier. All Opening Round and Quarterfinal games can be viewed for free on Sunday's semifinals, which begin at Noon, will be nationally televised by CBS Sports Network, while the final is set for Monday at 5 p.m. on ESPN2.

2012 Buick A-10 Women's Basketball Championship Seeds

1. St. Bonaventure (27-2/14-0)
2. Temple (20-8/13-1)
3. Dayton (20-6/12-2)
4. Richmond (22-7/9-5)
5. Saint Joseph's (19-9/9-5)
6. Charlotte (16-12/8-6)
7. Duquesne (19-10/7-7)
8. La Salle (13-16/7-7)
9. Xavier (8-19/5-9)
10. George Washington (11-17/4-10)
11. Saint Louis (10-19/4-10)
12. Fordham (12-17/3-11)

No comments:

Post a Comment