Tuesday, December 13, 2011

Commission Approves Changes to State Legislative Districts

The Pennsylvania Legislative Reapportionment Commission has approved its plan to redraw state House and Senate district boundaries according to population shifts identified in the 2010 U.S. Census.
Under the plan, the 67th Legislative District would see the following changes: 
All of Cameron County would become part of the 75th Legislative District served by Rep. Matt Gabler.
In Potter County, the Borough of Galeton along with Pike and West Branch townships would become part of 68th Legislative District served by Rep. Matt Baker.
In Warren County, Sheffield Township would become part of the 67th District. The township was represented by Rep. Kathy Rapp. 
All of McKean County would become part of the 67th District. The following communities are being added: the townships of Hamilton, Hamlin, Lafayette and Wetmore, and the boroughs of Kane and Mt. Jewett.
It is my honor and privilege to represent our area in the state House and while I am disappointed to see Cameron County moved into a different district and for Potter County to be split into two House districts, I also welcome the opportunity to serve the western portion of McKean County and the people of Sheffield Township, Warren County.

I am confident the transition will be seamless. While we all represent our districts first and foremost, we also work together for the benefit of the entire region. I look forward to continuing to work with my fellow legislators to advance the issues most important to rural Pennsylvania.

The Pennsylvania Constitution requires state legislative district boundaries to be adjusted every 10 years based on census data. The census showed a significant shift of population away from northwestern Pennsylvania and in to the northeast and south central regions of the state.

Now that the Legislative Reapportionment Commission has given its approval to the proposal, there is a 30-day period during which the plan can be challenged. It will become final when those challenges are resolved by the state Supreme Court.

No comments:

Post a Comment